Tuesday, February 14, 2006

New Releases Tuesday (2/14)

Magnet - The Tourniquet (Filter Recordings)
Formerly of the band Libido, Norwegian singer/songwriter Even Johansen returns for his second full-length as Magnet. As a sucker for "sad bastard" music, I was totally obsessed with Johansen's 2001 solo release, Quiet & Still, which critics described as "Thom Yorke trapped in a David Lynch movie." The Tourniquet finds Johansen a bit more optimistic and pop-friendly, but his trademark meloncholia still shines through. I'd still recommend Quiet & Still first, but The Tourniquet is worthwile listen if you dig dreamy singer/songwriter pop.

Sergio Mendes - Timeless (Concord Records)
Seminal Brazilian bossa nova king Sergio Mendes teams up with Will of the Black Eye Peas for a brand new record featuring guest appearances by the likes of Stevie Wonder, John Legend, India.Arie, Black Thought and the rest of the Black Eyed Peas crew.

The Subways - Young for Eternity (Sire)
Domestic release of the debut album from the band that won the Best Unsigned Band award at the 2004 Glastonbury festival. Features production from Ian Broudie, the former lead singer of The Lightning Seeds.

Sing-Sing - Sing Sing and I (Reincarnate Music)
Domestic release of the latest album from the British band featuring former Lush guitarist/vocalist Emma Anderson.


Post a Comment

<< Home